Underage DUI Defense Lawyer in Norfolk, VA
Our attorneys can fight for your freedom
Are you under 21 and facing a driving under the influence (DUI) charge in Norfolk, Virginia Beach, or another part of Hampton Roads, Virginia? You need to act fast to protect your rights. Otherwise, you could lose your driver’s license, be fined and possibly even face jail time. A criminal conviction such as this can follow you and affect the rest of your life.
Make sure you take your underage DUI charge in Virginia seriously right from the start. Make sure you talk to a Norfolk, Virginia DUI defense attorney at Welch & Wright, PLLC. Our legal team can get right to work investigating your DUI charge and building the strongest possible legal defense.
In many cases, our Virginia lawyers have been able to have DUI charges dismissed for a variety of reasons, including violation of a driver’s rights and mistakes made while conducting a DUI breath test or blood test.
But, if necessary, our courtroom-tested trial attorneys prepare every underage DUI case for trial. We’re familiar with the courts in the Hampton Roads area and throughout Virginia. That’s why we have such a strong track record of success in court. We get results when they matter.
What is underage DUI?
In Virginia, a driver under 21 years old is considered legally intoxicated if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.02 percent or higher. In contrast, adult drivers in Virginia are considered intoxicated if their BAC is 0.08 percent or higher.
Penalties for underage DUI in Virginia
The penalties for a DUI conviction for underage drivers in Virginia can be found in Virginia Code 18.2-266.1. According to the state statute, underage drivers convicted of DUI in Virginia face the following penalties:
- Driver’s license suspended for 12 months.
- Up to 12 months in juvenile detention or jail.
- Mandatory 50 hours of community service.
- Fine of $250 to $2,500.
- Ignition interlock device installed for 6 months.
- Completion of an Alcohol Safety Action Program course.
Additional penalties also apply for underage drivers in Virginia with a higher BAC. If an underage driver has a BAC of 0.15 or higher, they must serve a mandatory minimum of 5 days in juvenile detention or jail. If their BAC is 0.220 percent or higher, they must serve a mandatory minimum of 10 days in juvenile detention or jail.
Can juvenile drivers convicted of DUI in Virginia obtain a restricted driver’s license?
Yes. In many cases, drivers under 21 convicted of a DUI in Virginia can obtain a restricted driver’s license if their regular driver’s license has been suspended. A restricted driver’s license allows drivers to get to certain essential places, such as work, college, doctor’s appointments, or court appearances.
In most cases, a judge will decide whether to grant a juvenile convicted of a DUI in Virginia a restricted driver’s license. Often, a judge will only award such a license if a younger driver has completed an Alcohol Safety Action Program course.
However, just because a younger driver completed such a course does not guarantee they will automatically receive a restricted driver’s license. Every case is different. That’s why any juvenile charged with a DUI in Virginia should talk to an attorney immediately after their arrest.
You have rights. Our law firm defends them
Don’t underestimate the seriousness or the complexity of your juvenile DUI arrest. The legal process can move fast in Virginia Beach and other parts of the state. That’s why it’s critical that you talk to a lawyer right away.
Our experienced Virginia DUI defense attorneys at Welch & Wright, PLLC know the law and consistently get results. Don’t take chances with your future. Take action. Contact our law firm and schedule a free case evaluation with a highly skilled Norfolk, VA DUI defense lawyer. We fight to win.